What are you looking for?



Formed in 1981, the trio known as Whodini consists of lead rapper Jalil Hutchins, co-vocalist John "Ecstasy" Fletcher, and DJ Drew "Grandmaster Dee" Carter. Whodini was among the first hip hop groups to cultivate a high-profile national following and made significant contributions to to hip hop becoming accepted as a mainstream genre. Whodini signed with London-based independent record label Jive Records in 1982, and enjoyed a string of hits for several years, mostly charting on urban and R&B radio stations. The bulk of production on their releases was done by Larry Smith, a bass player who also handled much of Run-DMC's early work. Their most successful album, Escape, was released in 1984 and features the songs "Five Minutes of Funk", "The Freaks Come Out at Night" and "Friends".